About The Miller Trust

The Miller Trust for Radiation Chemistry is an international society registered as a charity in the United Kingdom (registration # 802533) that was organised by former colleagues and friends of the late Dr. Nicholas Miller. The objects of the Trust are the advancement of public education concerning the chemical effects of radiation, in particular by holding conferences known as ‘The Miller Conferences’ in the UK and other countries in Europe, in the general subject area of radiation chemistry

Miller Conferences have been held at two-year intervals since 1959 (with the exception of 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic), and have provided a European equivalent of the past Gordon Research Conferences on Radiation Chemistry, and now the International Conference on Ionizing Processes (ICIP).

All attendees of the most recent Miller Conference are members of the Miller Trust, which is managed by a committee of twelve members elected from the Trust.


The current members of the Miller Trust Committee are:

Mohamad Al-Sheikhly (University of Maryland, USA)

Fred Currell (Dalton Cumbrian Facility, The University of Manchester, UK)

Clelia Dispenza (University of Palermo, Italy)

Vladimir Feldman (Lomonosov Moscow State University, Russia)

David Grills (Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA)

Mats Jonsson (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden) – CHAIR

Tanja Jurkin (Ruđer Bošković Institute, Croatia)

Sophie Le Caër (Université Paris Saclay, France) – VICE-CHAIR

Laura Leay (Science Writer, UK) – TREASURER

Samy Remita (Université Paris Saclay & Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers, France) – SECRETARY

Piotr Ulański (Lodz University of Technology, Poland)

Israel Zilbermann (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel)


List of Miller Conferences:

1st 1959 - R. Roberts: Portmeirion, Wales

2nd 1961 - F. S. Dainton: Portmeirion, Wales

3rd 1963 - M. Magat: Rocamadour, France

4th 1965 - W. Wild: Portmeirion, Wales

5th 1967 - J. Kroh Kazimierz: Poland

6th 1969 - J. J. Weiss: Portmeirion, Wales

7th 1971 - G. Semerano: Sardinia, Italy

8th 1973 - J. H. Baxendale: Portmeirion, Wales

9th 1975 - T. Gaumann: Biirgenstock, Switzerland

10th 1977 - G. Scholes: Portmeirion, Wales

11th 1979 - N. Th. Rakintzis: Nafplion, Greece

12th 1981 - G. A. Salmon: Windermere, England

13th 1983 - D. Schulte-Frohlinde: Hunfeld, Germany

14th 1985 - A. J. Swallow: Windermere, England

15th 1987 - R. Schiller: Sopron, Hungary

16th 1989 - C. O. Phillips: Windermere, England

17th 1991 - J. Belloni: Giens, France

18th 1993 - P. Wardman: Windermere, England

19th 1995 - Q. G. Mulazzani: Cervia, Italy

20th 1997 - P. O'Neill; A. Johnson: Windermere, England

21st 1999 - J. M. Warman: Doorwerth, The Netherlands

22nd 2001 - N. Green: Windermere, England

23rd 2003 - J. Mayer; J. L. Gebicki: Bialowieza, Poland

24th 2005 - M. Spotheim-Maurizot; C. Houee-Levin: La Londe les Maures, France

25th 2007 - S. M. Pimblott; N. Harridge: Buxton, England

26th 2009 - E. Takacs; L. Wojnarovits: Keszthely, Hungary

27th 2011 - M. Jonsson: Tallberg, Sweden

28th 2013 - I. Zilbermann; S. Goldstein: Dead Sea, Israel

29th 2015 - N. Green: Windermere, England

30th 2017 - C. Dispenza: Castellammare del Golfo, Sicily, Italy

31st 2019 - F. Currell: West Cumbria, England

32nd 2023 - S. Remita; S. Le Caër: Corsica, France (2021 conference postponed until 2023 due to COVID-19 pandemic)

Online user: 2 RSS Feed | Privacy